News & Events

Untitled design 9

President of AILG awards National Bravery Medals for outstanding acts of courage

Donegal citizens Jane Friel, Zoe Lally, Caiden Sweeney and Garda Róisín O’ Donnell were among 25 people from across the country who were presented with National Bravery Awards at a ceremony in Farmleigh House in Dublin on Friday afternoon.

Among those present was Buncrana native, Councillor Nicholas Crossan, who is President of Association of Irish Local Government and a member of the Bravery Award Council.

The annual honours are awarded by Comhairle na Míre Gaile – the Deeds of Bravery Council – which was founded in 1947 to enable State recognition of exceptional Acts of Bravery. The Council is chaired by the Ceann Comhairle and includes the Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann, the Lord Mayors of Dublin and Cork, the Garda Commissioner, the President of the Association of Irish Local Government, and the Chairman of the Irish Red Cross.

Speaking following the awards ceremony which was hosted by Mary Kennedy, AILG President, Councillor Nicholas Crossan said:

“Due to their incredible acts of bravery, there are people alive today, who would undoubtedly have died. It is a privilege to be here today to acknowledge the extraordinary brave acts of heroism that our honoured guests have performed.”

Jane Friel, a young teacher from Castlefinn, Co Donegal was honoured for her bravery in saving a father and his three young daughters from drowning off the coast of Portsalon and surfer Zoe Lally, from Rossnowlagh, received her bronze medal award for saving the lives of three teenage boys who were swept from Easkey Pier, into the sea by a high wave.


Media contact:

Elaine Lynch, Tel: 087-3470274 / E-mail:

Notes to editors:

About the Association of Irish Local Government (AILG)

The Association of Irish Local Government (AILG) is the primary body representing the democratically elected members and their member local authority. It is a networking, policy development and training resource for the elected members of Ireland’s thirty-one county and city councils.

Scroll to Top