News & Events

AILG Interactive Map

AILG launches Local Authority Interactive Map

Each Local Authority website can be accessed on our new intuitive, interactive map!

Users can now easily access information relating on each local authority by simply clicking on the relevant geographical location on the map. This then brings the user straight to the local authority website.

You can access the map here

There are 31 local authorities in Ireland. Each local authority is divided into local electoral areas and the number of members to be elected in each are specified in a statutory instrument for each local authority area. There are 949 Local Authority Elected Members and the breakdown between local authorities at county, city and city and county is as follows;

  • 26 County Councils, of which three are in Dublin (Fingal, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown and South Dublin)
  • 3 City Councils: Cork, Dublin and Galway
  • 2 City and County councils: Limerick and Waterford

The elected council is the policy making forum of the local authority.

The 31 local authorities provide hundreds of services ranging from roads; planning; housing; economic and community development; environment, recreation, and amenity services; libraries and fire services.

Scroll to Top